Back to News

Another Assembly Incumbent Resigns

Redistricting and term limits have spurred a wave of departures in the Legislature. A few lawmakers have been appointed, some are seeking new opportunities, a couple have resigned, and others have simply announced they won’t seek reelection.

On January 21st, Assemblywoman Autumn Burke (D-Inglewood) announced she is resigning effective February 1st. “After taking some personal inventory, I feel it is of the utmost importance that I have the flexibility to spend more time with my family,” Burke wrote in a letter to constituents posted on Twitter. “After 7 years serving as your Assemblymember, my hope was to finish out my term, but circumstances have recently changed.” Notably, she was not termed out until 2026. Burke served as the Chair of the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee, and her departure will mean another lawmaker will be appointed to the position.

To recap, upon the Legislature’s return to session, the following announcements have been made:

  • On January 3rd, Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) announced her resignation.
  • On January 4th, Senator Connie M. Leyva (D-Chino) announced that she won’t seek reelection in 2022.
  • On January 5th, Assemblymember Patrick O'Donnell (D-Long Beach) similarly announced he is opting not to run and also ruled out a bid for mayor of Long Beach.
  • On January 6th, Assemblymember Kevin Kiley (R-Rocklin) decided to run for the newly drawn 3rd congressional district.
  • On January 10th, Assemblymember Chad Mayes (I-Yucca Valley) said he would not run for reelection and said he is considering a run a congressional run.
  • On January 11th, Senator Andreas Borgeas (R-Fresno) announced he isn’t running for reelection either.
  • On January 13th, Assemblymember Jordan Cunningham (R-San Luis Obispo) released a statement not seeking reelection.
  • On January 18th, Assemblymember Adam Gray (D- Merced) announced a congressional run.

Additionally, Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward), Assemblymember Jose Medina (D-Riverside) had also previously stated they are not seeking reelection. Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Monterey Park) was appointed to the bench and Assemblymember David Chiu (D-San Francisco) was tapped as San Francisco city attorney. Assemblymembers Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco) and Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) are also running for Congress. Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-Greenbrae) launched a campaign for Insurance Commissioner. Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D-Oakley) resigned. Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica) may be running for the Los Angeles Board of Supervisors and Senator Sydney Kamlager (D-Los Angeles) filed a statement of candidacy for the congressional seat currently held by Representative Karen Bass.

Notably, Gonzalez, Chau, Chiu, and Frazier have already vacated their seats. Special elections will be held to replace them. Stay tuned…